It is located in the municipality of San Ramón in the department of Matagalpa. It has an area of ​​8,087 hectares. It was declared a protected area through Presidential Decree 42-91, published in La Gaceta No. 207 on November 4, 1991.

The Quirragua mountain range is an old Tertiary volcanic caldera that is flanked on three sides by high ridges and is open to the west to give way to the Quirragua ravine, which rises at the bottom of the caldera and joins the Cusile River tributary of the Rio Grande de Matagalpa; In the same direction, the mountain range presents a series of rocky mogotes among which El Venado, El Canalete, El Trapiche and Peña Blanca stand out, which are true volcanic domes; finally, the northern slope of the caldera is steeper than the southern edge, which descends forming smaller hills until it dies in the Matiguás plain.

The vegetation of the area is broadleaf type with characteristics typical of the humid tropical forest, in the most accessible parts shade and sun coffee is grown. Among the arboreal flora is: caesalpineacoral, royal cedar, jiñocuabo, genízaro, black guanacaste, matapalo, copalchi, macuelizo oak, helequeme, pochote, guava, quebracho, laurel, wild guava, guaba, red sapote and zapotillo, lemongrass, cecropiaceae, pot-bellied ceiba, quebracho, bauhinia, papayón, sangredrago, drum, strawberry tree.


  • Trekking, environmental interpretation of the forest.
  • Observation of flora and fauna.