Chinandega, in the west, is immersed in volcanoes, lagoons, rivers and seas. Its soils are of volcanic origin, fertile and permeable. Its climate is tropical dry and its population is characterized by being hospitable and proud of its traditions and history.

This department is made up of 13 municipalities represented by towns, cities and mountains, the majority have aboriginal roots, some preserving their Nahuatl names such as: Chichigalpa, Chinandega and Posoltega; We can also find: El Viejo, Corinto, Villanueva, Santo Tomás del Norte, San Francisco del Norte, Somotillo, Puerto Morazán, El Realejo, Cinco Pinos, San Pedro del Norte.

Municipalities of Chinandega

Go to Top