Nicaragua has 74 protected areas, covering approximately a territorial extension of 7,462,410 hectares, in nine management categories, which is equivalent to more than 57% of the national territory.

Protected areas are established in accordance with current legislation with the objective of conservation, rational management and restoration of flora, wild fauna and other forms of life, as well as biodiversity and the biosphere. Due to their natural, social and cultural relevance, they are recognized as a National System of Protected Areas and are integrated into Private Wildlife Reserves.

Many protected areas in the country, such as those located on the Caribbean coast and those in the north and center of the country, are responsible for protecting large areas of fragmented biomes.

Among the most important protected areas, both for Nicaragua and for the American continent and the world, are the Bosawás Biosphere Reserve in the department of Jinotega (border with Honduras) (1997), Río San Juan Biosphere Reserve (2003) and the Isla de Ometepe Biosphere Reserve (2010), declared by UNESCO, and the Nicaraguan Caribbean Biosphere Reserve, located off the east coast of the country, approved by the Nicaraguan National Assembly on January 28, 2021.

There are also protected areas in the country whose importance is the preservation of endemic species, such as the Mombacho Volcano Nature Reserve, where there are various endemic species of salamanders and orchids.

 In short, protected areas play a fundamental role in protecting the country's flora and fauna, in addition to protecting degraded ecosystems in other parts of the country.


Share this information on your favorite social network!

Go to Top